Tuesdays with Dorie – Blueberry Muffins

  • The blueberry muffins from Baking with Julia  for today were good – nice, light airy muffins, even though they presented me with some quirks.  Blueberry MuffinsMy blueberries settled on the bottom even though I coated them with dry ingredients.  They baked in 15 minutes, so 18-20 minutes would have been way too long.  I found them to be like light little cakes.  A good snack with coffee, however.
  • image
  • I used King Arthur Cake Flour Blend.  Haven’t sifted anything that much in a long time.
  • Lots of bowls – bowl for liquid ingredients, bowl for dry ingredients, bowl for blueberries, and bowl for milk and egg mixture.

image

After 15 minutes, I was afraid to leave them in any longer.  They were golden brown, sprang back to the touch, were just beginning to dry around the edges, and a bamboo stick came out dry.

image

image

See how brown they got on the bottom.  I used Pam butter spray.  Maybe that hurried the browning.

Blueberry Muffins

I would probably not make them again because of the extra work.  I have a recipe from the King Arthur Whole Grain Baking book that I use, and my family really likes them.   The blueberries stay scattered throughout, and I use ground wheat berries for part of the flour.  The dry ingredients go into a bowl and the wet are mixed into a well in the center – all in one bowl mixed with a wooden spoon.

This entry was posted in baking, blueberries, blueberry, Julia Child, King Arthur, muffins, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tuesdays with Dorie – Blueberry Muffins

  1. Liz says:

    Yeah, there were definitely a LOT of dirty dishes :) I like the sound of your King Arthur recipe.

  2. Cathy B. says:

    I use King Arthur’s unbleached cake flour too. I find that other cake flours have a strange aftertaste. I have the KA Whole Grain Baking book. I’ll have to try their blueberry muffin recipe. Thanks for the tip!

    • mbcorso says:

      It is towards the front of the book. Blueberry
      Muffins are listed as a variation of the
      main muffin recipe. I used 25% wheat berries ground. Look on my blog. There’s a post about them. Marie

  3. Cathleen says:

    Yup. My berries sank to the bottom as well. Still, I enjoyed them.

  4. Dawn says:

    A fussier recipe than I’m used to for muffins, but the resulting texture was great! :)

  5. SandraM says:

    It was a lot of dishes!! But I did really enjoy them. I don’t think I’ve ever had such light (in texture) muffins before.

  6. saucygander says:

    Your muffins look yummy! But now I’m intrigued by your King Arthur recipe, it sounds like a real winner! could you please send it to me?
    I made the fougasse this week, it was fun! :-)

Leave a Reply

